SID

You were helpless, so tiny

When first I held you     

You nuzzled and squeaked

I couldn’t resist you.

 

So quickly you grew

So sleek and fine

You stole our hearts

Especially mine.

 

You were always there

At the end of my bed

And in the mornings

Around my legs

 

You knew our voices

And ran to greet

Whenever we walked

Along our street

 

Then, one day

You just weren’t there

I looked each day

I felt despair

 

I miss your kiss

When I wake each day

You nagging for food

And your cheeky way

 

I’ll never forget

The touch of your fur

And the way you licked me

And the sound of your purr.

Leave a Reply

