The Deadly Spring Tide

I hear it as I lay, not sleeping
Lapping over rocks and stones
The gentle noise, never ending
Soothing my aching bones

I hear it as I lay, just dozing
It creeps and tickles infants’ toes
It races to the moats of castles
Then ambles back in slow repose

I hear it as I lay, just waiting
Crashing, rushing, swirling round
Invincible it surges onwards
Its almighty roar the only sound

I hear it now, as it surrounds me
High tide too much for me to fight
The rocking, swaying motion soothes me
The final swell puts out the light.

 

New Poem for a competition – Theme ‘Tide’

Leave a Reply

